Don’t get Burned

Life is made up by choices.

Some good.

Some bad.

But all our choices have brought us to this moment in time. And in this moment we have to choose…choose whether to let those choices define us still…or whether to take a different path. To let go of our past mistakes. To leave the pain behind us and strive to be better than we are in this moment.

pinterest

I have found it hard to forgive. Forgiveness does not come easy to me, especially if I have to forgive myself. I can’t seem to forgive myself for the choices I have made in the past. It seems impossible. The battle rages inside me on a daily basis. Sometimes I feel like I cannot breath.

But I do.

Forgive the sinner, not the sin.

The Star Wars episodes I, II, and III have never been my favorite. I am and forever will be teamed up with the original Star Wars (despite me owning all six). That being said. I was in a bad frame of mind when Episode III came out. I was angry. Angry at the world. I bathed in that anger. I let it fill me up and consume me. I let thoughts of revenge loose in my mind and reveled in “what-if” scenarios.

I didn’t realize it was consuming me.

Episode III taught me to hate the sin, not the sinner. Humans are flawed. We make choices that may seem right in the moment. Those moments may destroy us if we let them.

Don’t let them.

I still struggle with the concept. I want to hold on to the anger…the hurt… But doing this, I have come to realize, will only hurt myself.

Don’t forgive the sin. Remember it. Keep it close in your mind, but not in your heart. “Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned.” –Buddha

Leave a Reply

