Heaven is a new Book

After work yesterday, I met my mom at a store before having dinner at Chili’s (I don’t know why we still go there, the service is horrible 90% of the time). Despite the service, it was a good time – as always when I am with my mom. The other night, I was notified by warninge-mail that Allegiant was ready to be picked up at my local public library by my apartment. All day yesterday I was counting down until I could pick up my book! I was afraid that I wouldn’t make it before the library closed at eight, but the stars were aligned with me!

I am obsessed.

It all started with Divergent. I haven’t gotten this entranced by a book series like this since…Hunger Games, maybe? I mean, I have enjoyed the books I have read so far this year. Thoroughly enjoyed them, but there is just something about this series that is waking up my mind.

Makes me want to write.

And now as I sit here in front of the computer, my hands itch to wrap themselves around Allegiant and dive deep into the world of fiction. It’s my escape from the reality of my life. Sadly…I cannot though. Not until the work day is over. I was smart to not read before work because if I had started, I don’t know if I could have stopped.

fourquoteIt’s the characters that make me want to keep reading. I’ve always loved characters and seeing how authors evolve them as the book progresses. I am a greedy person in regards to books. I can never get enough.

I know once I finish the series I will become slightly depressed…like I always do after finishing a good book (or book series). It is like losing a close friend. I just spent five hundred or so pages with them and suddenly, with the closing of a book, they are gone. They are a memory now. Sure, I can re-read the book and I usually do after time has passed, but it is never the same as the first time. It’s like binge watching a TV show on Netflix. When I reach the last episode, my brain is suddenly thinking: Now what?

I should savor Allegiant. I shouldn’t read it all in one sitting like I did with the first two books. And maybe tonight, when I get to sit down and read, I won’t be greedy and read it all…maybe I will be able to put it down.

Maybe.

 

Leave a Reply

