#AlwaysKeepFighting

I have struggled with depression, sometimes I feel it start to sneak back into my soul. A year or two ago, I went to my doctor about it. I was tired all the time. I was struggling daily. I felt like I just couldn’t move forward, I was just stuck in this spot of darkness. I struggled alone with it. I didn’t want to worry my friends and family. I felt weak and I didn’t want to let anyone know how weak I was.

But I let people in.

And my friends and family were, of course, awesome and supportive. No one realized how down I really was. I learned during this time how great of a faker I am. My motto was “fake it ’til you make it.” And I did, until finally I broke. Most of the time, the support was great. Sometimes, it was exhausting. On my bad days, getting told relentlessly that I was going to be okay, that my life was wpid-20150408_193223.jpggood, that I shouldn’t be depressed…made me feel worse. I knew all these things. I had a good job. I had awesome friends and family. I had a roof over my head and food in my kitchen. People that haven’t been in this place, I think, don’t realize the constant struggle. You can have a good day, a great day, but still feel down at the end of it.

During this time, I learned that it’s a battle. You have to fight daily. Accept the days you feel like you can’t breathe and strive for the good days. And then last month I heard about Jared Padalecki’s represent.com shirt and I couldn’t help but be impressed. I read an article about how this came about and went to https://represent.com/jared to order my own shirt.

“When life beats you down, NEVER give up. Proceeds from my FIRST EVER limited edition shirt will go to “To Write Love On Her Arms”, to help people struggling with depression, addiction, self-injury and suicide.” – Jared

So when I heart this week that Jared and Jensen Ackles teamed up to create a new shirt https://represent.com/jaredjensen first thing this morning I got on and ordered not only one, but two different styles of these shirts.

I am so impressed with all these men do for their fans and essentially strangers. Of course, I cannot forget Misha Collins with Random Acts of Kindness and more.

I was late to the Supernatural show. About the middle of last year, I started binge watching it. It was actually perfect timing on my part. I had eight seasons to watch on Netflix and by the time I finished the eighth season, I only had to wait a week until ninth was added and then I finished the ninth season just in time for the airing of season ten.

I am currently going over to my parents to make them watch it.

Needless to say, I respect what these guys are doing. And I am excited to be able to help them erase the astigmatism associated with depression. And I cannot wait for sometime next month when the new shirts get shipped out. And remember, get yours while you can and give your support to people who need it.

“In addition to the fund that we have started, we are ALSO going to work with that guy named Misha Collins (maybe you’ve heard of him) and his wonderful charity “Random Acts” to increase our reach and accomplish things that we simply could not accomplish alone. We’ve learned, after all these years, that things are better when we’re all working together.”

Leave a Reply

