Day of Silence 2015

I am behind the times (as usual). I just learned today is the Day of Silence. Today, students across the world are taking a vow of silence to create:

“awareness about the silencing effect of anti-LGBT bullying, harassment and discrimination.” – GLSEN

This has been going on for years and I can’t help be surprised this is the first time I am hearing about it.

Last night, I went out to dinner with my friend. Our server was a nice young man (I assume around my age, if not a little younger). I saw the equality sign tattooed on his forearm with a saying enveloping it in an oval shape. It was a beautiful message.

I seriously hope that one day sexual orientation, whatever it is, will not matter. That we can love who we want without getting persecuted or judged. So today my heart goes out in support to everyone remaining silent in support of those who are being bullied. Maybe by this time next year the bullying will stop and we will except our neighbors as they are without judgment.

It isn’t our place to judge others.

Leave a Reply

