Introvert Power

“What is different for an introvert is that we don’t naturally look to others for comfort when we’re lonely. We think about it, considering the people we might talk to and how that will go, but then often opt for the privacy and expansiveness of solitary reflection. I am very selective when I’m in a tender place. I don’t want someone who will cut me short and cheer me up or too quickly offer solutions. I want someone who will give me a lot of room, someone who will allow me to be alone as we’re together. And I’m willing to risk being alone, by myself, if the alternative means compromising my inner process.” – Laurie Helgoe, Introvert Power: Why Your Inner Life is Your Hidden Strength

I discovered the next book I will be getting from the library. I read this quote earlier today on Introvert, Dear  and felt like a light bulb went off in my soul. Another person who understands! And there is a book!

I don’t like to read non-fiction books…unless it has to deal with introversion. For the past year, I have been researching introversion and trying out different techniques of recharging my energy and how I communicate with the extroverts in my life. Sometimes I fail, but most of the time I succeed!

I have discovered: it is okay to say no. It is okay to want to stay in by myself to recharge. I don’t need to makes excuses. I can just say no. And I do not need to feel guilty for my decision to take the needed alone time for myself.

It is a wonderful feeling to be able to be myself without having to hide the fact that I enjoy spending time alone and doing nothing. That the time I spend alone is something I need to do for myself. It does not make me selfish (something I still struggle with).  So now, when I say yes it is because I actually want to be around people, not because I feel guilty and feel like I should. It is a glorious feeling.

Leave a Reply

