The Absence of Someone

“You drive me insane June. You’re the scariest, most clever, bravest person I know, and sometimes I can’t catch my breath because I’m trying so hard to keep up. There will never be another like you. You realize that, don’t you? Billions of people will come and go in this world, but there will never be another like you.” Day – Champion

Just closed another book. The last in the series. I don’t know how I feel…accomplished? Happy? Disappointed?

Let’s just go with hungover.

I finished the second book in the series two days ago. A lot has happened in absensethe pages in the last book that my brain is still catching up. I know I am very glad I read the books, unlike how I was feeling the other day when I finished Prodigy.

The words are still surrounding me, filling up the empty spaces in my soul. Maybe in my sleep tonight I will find the words that are stuck inside me. I hate it when that happens. You have something to say, something you feel you need to get off your chest and nothing comes out. Just emptiness. So, my emptiness is filled with fictional characters. But now what? I finished this series, I have to wait for the last book of The Lunar Chronicles to come out… what is next?

Red Queen is next. Who knows, maybe it will take me longer than two days to read this one! Until then…I have the world of June and Day to fill the emptiness inside me.

“I can feel his presence here in every stone he has touched, every person he has lifted up, every street and alley and city that he has changed in the few years of his life, because he is the Republic, he is our light, and I love you, I love you, until the day we meet again I will hold you in my heart and protect you there, grieving what we never had, cherishing what we did. I wish you were here.
I love you, always.”

Leave a Reply

