What Happened?

Call me old fashion…or just the odd-man out, but what is with people texting/messaging or even calling throughout the night? I will look over weekends, but work nights? Come on! What is so important that needs to be discussed at three in the morning? Oh, right! I’m sorry, I must be over-reacting to your important “hey” that just cannot wait a few more hours.

I need to stop letting these little things get under my skin. Call me crazy, but I feel that if you tell someone (actually everyone) that on work nights I try to go to bed around 9, people should respect that and not call or message you after that time. A year or so ago I was depressed and struggling on a daily basis. I was tired all the time and no matter what, I couldn’t get the sleep I needed. That is, until I put myself on a tight schedule. I would go to bed at 9, put my phone on silent and put it on my nightstand (it is my alarm clock otherwise I would turn it off). I would fall asleep between 9 and 10 and wake up between 6:30 and 7 (now it is 6 and 6:30).

Yes, I know how boring my life sounds and I am okay with that. Although I still struggle some days, I am feeling a lot better than I did, but I still keep to my schedule (with the occasional deviation because of a book). It has been over a year now since I have adopted this schedule. I don’t respond to texts or calls after 9 unless I am up. I put my phone on silent for those people who do not care that I am sleeping.

Here is the question. Am I over-reacting to those few who keep messaging or calling me after 10 on work nights? I am not a college student any more who stays up to 1 am every night working on home work. And yes, I had a lot of friends work night shift from when I worked nights before I left for college, but not any more. That was over six years ago. I have had a 8:30 to 5 job for the past three years. So when a so-called friend messages me at 3 in the morning last night “hey,” when they know I am attempting to sleep it kind of annoys me. Do I not deserve some respect?

Oh right…I don’t.

That is what my abusive ex’s have taught me. Who cares of I want or need, right? What does it matter that I need to sleep before I work? I need to be available to everyone else….that is all that matters. I especially like telling said person, “I’m glad my phone was on silent.” And getting the reply, “If it wasn’t, I’m sure you wouldn’t have heard it.”

That makes it all better. Thank you for hitting the nail in that you still don’t respect me. You are awake so I should be too.

2 thoughts on “What Happened?

  1. Society is bursting with selfish entitled ass-hats that couldn’t give 2 shits about others. It’s quite depressing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

