Play That Funky Music

There are some songs that just transport you back in time. Detroit Rock City by KISS brings me back to the days of watching the movie Detroit Rock City with my friends in the downstairs living room back in my teenager years. It brings a smile to my face and a skip to my step. Following that up is Dude Looks Like a Lady! That is a special song to me. It brings back memories of driving home from Dollywood (I believe) and sitting in the backseat singing along with friends and just having a fantastic time. Today, this memory fills me with love and of course, the ache that comes along with missing someone who was taken from this world too soon.

This random selection on rdio.com today is fantastic! Queen, Credence Clearwater Revival, Aerosmith, Def Leppard…. It is definitely going to be a good day. Even though I didn’t want to get out of bed this morning, I did and managed to work out with PiYo Lower Body. Yesterday’s workout was horrible. I hate the Sweat workout, but I did it! Then, I managed to take apart my kitchen table and get some things thrown out. I am actually enjoying this simplification of my life. I have needed to do it for years. I know exactly when I started hording memories close. It was a little over twelve years ago.

I am so grateful it is finally Friday. This week has been a long, hard week (much like the past…forever weeks). And I am grateful for surviving it. I am grateful for conquering it.

Now time to conquer today and the weekend. Tomorrow I am moving the heavy furniture in my apartment out…yay. Time for a change!

Leave a Reply

