“Anxiety is the dizziness of freedom”

People who are prone to anxiety are nearly always people-pleasers who fear conflict and negative feelings like anger. When you feel upset, you sweep your problems under the rug because you don’t want to upset anyone. You do this so quickly and automatically that you’re not even aware you’re doing it.

David D. Burns

Last night after work I stopped at the library to return some books and finally pick up Felicia Day’s book You’re Never Weird on the Internet (almost). I started reading it during my lunch today and it was hard putting it down to return to work. Today has been an odd day for me. I am stuck in a mood where I care about everything and nothing at the same time. It leaves me feeling anxious as well as slightly depressed. This is the best feeling ever…

That was sarcasm.

So imagine by absolute delight when I picked up the library book and began to read Joss Whedon’s Foreword. If anything could cheer up my weird mood, it would be this stranger. I don’t remember when I first learned about Felicia day, but whenever it was…that was the day I fell in love with her. She seems like a genuinely awesome person. And reading her memoir it makes me happy to know I was right. I didn’t get the read a lot, just a few pages of the awesomeness that she is, but what I did read made me happy. It lightened the darkness that was starting to form around me. And although I can still feel it around the edges, I don’t feel as…lost as I was this morning. Granted, I am still feeling lost and overwhelmed, but not as hopeless as I was earlier.

“…my personal philosophy is always to assume the worst, then you’re never disappointed.” – Felicia Day

It is like she speaks to my soul. That is my philosophy as well. And this was just seven pages into her memoir. I am going to thoroughly enjoy reading her book over the next few days. My hands are already itching to be able to read it.

Leave a Reply

