“I went away in my head, into a book….”

…That was where I went whenever real life was too hard or inflexible.” – Neil Gaiman “The Ocean at the end of the Lane”

I finished a book. Finally. I started it last week. Read most of it last night in the bathtub and before I passed out. And today at lunch I finished it.

And I hate that it took me as long as it did.

I need to make more time for reading. Especially when my dad recommends a book for me to read. Even more when the book is by Neil Gaiman.

ocean1.jpg

If you are looking for a good book to read, I recommend “The Ocean at the end of the Lane.” It’s a fairy tale for adults. Well, for anyone wanting to read really.

ocean2

There is something heartbreaking and wonderful about this book. It makes me want to re-examine everything at once. And of course makes my hands itch for some more books to read. I am listening to the Harry Potter books at work, which helps the reading bug. But at the same time, there is nothing more wonderful than holding a book in your hand and turning the pages, excited to see where the paths lead.

I haven’t really read anything in months. And that makes me sad. Time to start making time to read again and be happy, lost in the fictional words of literature.

Leave a Reply

