“I feel guilty because I often confuse people about being introverted. I am outgoing and friendly in person. People do not realize I’m introverted and therefore, at some point, I have to let them down by not wanting to spend as much time together as they want. It makes me think that I should not be so outgoing, but I cannot change that either.”

18 People Talk About What It Feels Like To Be An Introvert

I love reading introvert articles. It makes me feel like I am not alone. Which I know I am never alone, but still…it’s nice to be reminded!

Misconception #2: “Introverts are quiet and don’t like to talk.”

Wrong again. I like to talk. I have a lot to say! After spending an above average amount of time thinking and reading, I want to share what I’ve learned. I want to know what others think about what I’m now thinking.

But I don’t like to talk in front of a group of people I don’t know. I don’t like to talk in environments that are loud. And I don’t like to talk about silly things, or what some would call “small talk.” I’d much rather talk about the important issues in my life and hear what issues you’re working through. And if we hit upon a mutually interesting topic, I can talk with others for hours.”

It’s hard being an introvert in a society that tells people they are not normal if they behave outside the “normal.” I hate being told what I should feel or do in any situation. It really gets under my skin.

I guess it does anyone.

Most days I am fine. Some days, however, I tend to feel like I’m on the outside looking in. And when people tell me how people usually act in a given situation, it gets my back up and hits in the feeling that I am the outsider on “normal” social customs.

I cannot be anyone but myself. I wouldn’t know how to be anyone else. Whenever I do, I end up feeling depressed and start to resent the people in my life that are trying to get me to change into someone else. I am finally feeling comfortable in my own skin and can finally tell someone: hey, that what may be normal for everyone else, but it isn’t for me. So here’s a hoping that depressed and resentful feeling will stay away.

What really has helped is being in a different work environment. I don’t feel like the outsider here. And it is a wonderful feeling. I think that has helped me find my footing in my personal life.

Leave a Reply

