“This isn’t about politics. It’s about basic human dignity.”

I have been good at keeping my mouth shut this election. I seethe in silence and remind myself there is enough anger, fear, and hatred in the world to add any more to it. But after this week…I can’t. Now, let me make this clear, I am not attacking anyone for supporting anyone. Nor am I saying the other candidates are perfect. I respect everyone who is voting this election. But to take the words from the First Lady: “This isn’t about politics. It’s about basic human dignity.”

I can no longer keep my mouth shut.

So I share this speech by the First Lady because her words hit me hard.

This isn’t just “locker room talk”. This is a Presidential Candidate bragging about sexually assaulting women. Whether he has done it or not is another story. And whether this is just “locker room talk” is another conversation. However, this is a Presidential Candidate bragging about sexually assaulting women. And it breaks my heart.

He said “You cannot be President if you call someone a piggy.”

So even a six year old knows better. A six year old knows that this is not how adults behave. This is not how decent human beings behave. And this is not how someone who wants to be President of the United States behaves.

There is so much hatred and anger in the world right now. So much uncertainty. And I am breaking from all the name calling and childish behavior I see on a daily basis. Every so often I read posts and comments on posts and feel like I need popcorn for all the drama and back and forth arguments. Then I feel my blood pressure rise because I realize, this isn’t arguments. Just people hating each other and spouting bull shit at one another.

And my heart breaks.

avatar

But I won’t let that darkness devour me. I will keep being positive. No matter what the outcome. I have hope and light inside me. And as long as I have that, nothing can truly break me.

Leave a Reply

